Leadership Teams

Executive Leadership Team

Brett A. Loftis, JD

Chief Executive Officer

Caroline Hart

Deputy Director & Chief External Relations Officer
photo of Brett Loftis

Brett Loftis graduated from Furman University with degrees in Sociology and Political Science and in 2001 from Wake Forest University School of Law. After spending numerous years working in ministry and child advocacy, including as the Executive Director of the Council for Children’s Rights in Charlotte, NC, Brett came to Crossnore in 2013 as Chief Executive Officer. In this role, Brett leads all initiatives of the organization, including programs, advancement, facilities, finances, advocacy, and organizational growth. In his spare time, he enjoys coaching youth soccer and basketball. Brett is married to Sally, and the couple has three sons.

Caroline Hart Chief External Relations Officer

Caroline Hart graduated from Peace College (now William Peace University) in 1997 with a bachelor’s degree in Communications. After spending 17 years in higher education fundraising and communications, most recently serving as Vice President of Advancement at Lees-McRae College, Caroline joined the Crossnore Communities for Children team in November 2014 as Chief External Relations Officer and became Deputy Director in October 2019. In this role, she leads regional strategies, business growth, communications, and fund development. In her spare time, she loves being a soccer mom, shopping, and spending one-on-one time with her husband. Caroline is married to the Reverend Jim Hart and the couple has five very active children.

Sarah Norris, Ed.D.

Chief Program Officer

Angela Woods, JD, MBA

Chief Operating Officer
photo of sarah norris

Sarah Norris holds a B.S. in Psychology from Gardner-Webb University, a Master of Education in Counseling and Development from Winthrop University, an MBA from East Carolina University, and an Ed.D.  in Organizational Leadership from Gardner-Webb University. Sarah has worked in child welfare for more than 15 years, holding positions with the NC Department of Health & Human Services, as well as at the county level in social services. Sarah joined Crossnore Communities for Children in 2018 as the Child Welfare Division Director and became Chief Program Officer in 2020, where she oversees all child welfare programs. In her spare time, Sarah loves to run, travel, read, and spend time with her family. She is married to Steve and the couple has two daughters.

Angela Woods graduated from Spelman College with a bachelor’s degree in Psychology. She holds a JD, Law from the University of Georgia School of Law and an MBA, Finance from Clark Atlanta University. After 12 years in various roles at the United Way, Angela became the CEO of the Girl Scouts Heart of the South in Memphis, TN and then returned to North Carolina as CEO of the Girl Scouts Hornets Nest Council in Charlotte. Angela joined the Crossnore Communities for Children team in 2021 as the Chief Operating Officer where she leads the day-to-day functions of the organization, including human resources, IT, finance, and facilities. In her spare time, Angela loves being a Mimi to two grandchildren. She is married to Daemon Woods and the couple has two children.

Senior Leadership Teams

External Relations Senior Leadership Team

Caroline Hart
Chief External Relations Officer/Deputy Director
(828) 733-4305
chart@crossnore.org

Tanya Blackford
Executive Director-Western Region
(828) 301-4622
tblackford@crossnore.org

Meribeth Robinson
Executive Director-Triad Region
(336) 721-7600
mrobinson@crossnore.org

Michelle Scott
Director of Annual Giving
(828) 733-4305
mscott@crossnore.org

Holly Solomon
Director of Communications
(336) 721-7600
hsolomon@crossnore.org

Joy Truluck
Director of Major & Planned Giving
(336) 721-7600
jtruluck@crossnore.org

Operations Senior Leadership Team

Angela Woods
Chief Operating Officer
(336) 721-7600
awoods@crossnore.org

Kenny Cook
Vice-President-Facilities
(828) 733-4305
kcook@crossnore.org

Teresa Huffman
Vice-President-Finance/CFO
(336) 721-7600
thuffman@crossnore.org

Jenny Taylor
Vice-President-Human Resources
(336) 721-7600
jtaylor@crossnore.org

Programs Senior Leadership Team

Sarah Norris
Chief Program Officer
(336) 721-7600
snorris@crossnore.org

Adam Jarrell
Senior Director of Residential
(336) 721-7600
ajarrell@crossnore.org

Melissa Morrissette-Hurst
Senior Director of Child Welfare Services
(336) 721-7600
mhurst@crossnore.org

Meredith Martin
Senior Director of Program Excellence
(336) 721-7600
mmartin@crossnore.org

Angela Squire
Senior Director of Prevention Services
(336) 721-7600
asquire@crossnore.org

Dawn O’Malley
Senior Director of Clinical Services
(336) 721-7600
domalley@crossnore.org